More Racing News

Todd Heintzelman: Ken Duke Jr. continues his PASS dominance, wins fourth in seven starts at Port Royal

PORT ROYAL, Pa.:  Ken Duke Jr. started second and led all 20 laps of the Pennsylvania Sprint Series 305 main event Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway.

It was Duke’s second Port Royal win of the season and fourth in seven starts with the series in 2019.

Duke, of Selinsgrove, controlled a lap three restart as 11th starter Devin Adams was up to fifth. Nick Sweigart, who won the last 305 feature at Port Royal, slammed the fourth turn wall with five laps completed. Adams was up to fourth challenging Doug Dodson for third.

Duke controlled the restart once again, with Jonathan Jones remaining close in second. He led by one second at the halfway point, as Adams and Dodson continued their battle behind the leaders.

He reached slower traffic with six laps to go, allowing Jones to close. Duke was on the bottom and Jones pounding the top.

A pass of a slower car coming to the white flag secured Duke’s second Port Royal win of the season and fourth overall with the Pennsylvania Sprint Car Series by .551 seconds.

“The car was really great,” Duke said. “We missed it a little bit in the heat race. The track slicked-off a little faster than I thought. We fixed that for the feature. Luckily, the rain held off.

“Starting up front means everything. That’s the race right there. Seth’s Racing Engines did an amazing job on this engine. It took off right at the start. Some of those lapped cars were making me nervous, but somehow, we got around them. Actually, when I moved up to go around the lapped cars, the car actually worked a little bit better. I can’t believe it. We tried for years to win races here and now we win two out of the first three. It’s amazing.”

Jones finished second for the third time. Roger Irvine came up to third with Dodson and Adams completing the top five. John Scarborough, Jaremi Hanson, John Fiore, Jake Frye and Zach Newlin, who started last, rounded out the top 10.

Heat races for the 41 cars were won by Adams, Scott Ellerman, Sweigart, and Dodson.  Cale Reigle and Ron Aurand won the consolations.

305 Sprint Car Feature Finish, 20 Laps: 1. Ken Duke Jr.; 2. Jonathan Jones; 3. Roger Irvine; 4. Doug Dodson; 5. Devin Adams; 6. John Scarborough; 7. Jaremi Hanson; 8. John Fiore; 9. Jake Frye; 10. Zach Newlin; 11. Cale Reigle; 12. Scott Ellerman; 13. Jake Waters; 14. Ron Aurand; 15. Jimmy White; 16. Dave Wickham; 17. Michael Wenrick; 18. Erin Statler; 19. Jay Krout; 20. Nick Sweigart; 21. Nathan Gramley; 22. Dave Grube; 23. Wally Eshenaur; 24. Ryan Lynn; 25. Drew Ritchey; 26. Dave Guss.

Your Ad Could Be Here
Contact Jeremy Elliott at 1-717-805-0483
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top

Motor Racing League plugin by Ian Haycox

error: Content is protected !!